Rave Venue Corruption

Recently I’ve been hearing some things about a Brooklyn venue, The Electric Warehouse, that have been disgusting me. Although I’ve been to some pretty wicked events there, I don’t think I’ll be going back due to the corrupt nature of those who run the venue.

First of all, any drug dealer can be let off [and by let off, I mean not thrown out, and not turned over to the police], by bribing security. In addition, I’ve been told that some of the drug dealers who frequent the warehouse team up with security, to point out other drug dealers and split the bribe money. Disgusting. I don’t like to say anything for or against drug use at raves, because it is a personal choice, but in all honesty, the selling of ecstasy, cocaine, marijuana, and other drugs is illegal and people shouldn’t be allowed to continue doing so for money.

Sadly, this isn’t all. Apparently the “trustworthy coat check” [which is $4 to check your coat and bag and $5 to keep it] has been stealing things out of the pockets of people’s coats. After reading comments on a facebook event page for a recent event at the Electric Warehouse I discovered that people have had iPODs and other things stolen by the coat check. Clearly, it may be worth that extra dollar to keep your stuff on you. Maybe I’m old fashioned, but I believe if you’re going to a legitimate club and using a legitimate coat check, your personal belongings should be protected.

Now, underground events may not be my favorite, however, at an entrance fee of generally free to $5, the lack of coat check, and the fact that there generally one or two bouncers making sure things don’t get out of hand, they may be worth the risk. I loved all the parties I’ve attended at the Electric Warehouse, everyone does, however, I don’t know if it’s worth the fun to support a corrupt staff, when I could be attending raves run by a venue who abides by PLUR.

I hope my favorite rave families decide to throw their parties at more trustworthy venues from now on. I’d hate to miss a great party.

Peace,
Emilie

About Emilie

A new NYC raver just getting into the scene.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

